If you are convicted of a sex offense, you will be required to be registered with the State Police for as little as ten and possibly for the rest of your life due to the state and federal version of Megan's Law.
Your neighbors, potential employers, family members and any member of the public is entitled under Megan's Law to know your detailed personal information, including your home address, car description, description, and details about your criminal history. You will be limited in where you can live and where you can work.
To learn more about how Megan's Law will affect you if you are convicted of a sex offense, contact Hark and Hark. We provide aggressive and experienced representation to registered sex offenders and those facing sex crime charges. We will fight to protect your rights.
How Will Megan's Law Affect You?
Stop Searching. Start Calling.
24-Hour Sex Crimes Hotline
At Hark and Hark, our criminal and professional license defense lawyers understand how Megan's Law affects the rights of convicted and registered sex offenders. We also handle cases for people charged with sex crimes who need to know how other laws designed to protect children from sex offenders — such as the Adam Walsh Act — will affect their freedom.
Megan's Law is named after Megan Kanka, a 7 year-old girl who was raped and murdered in New Jersey in 1994. Megan's Law was passed in order to alert parents and the public about convicted sex offenders who move into their neighborhoods.
It is now federal law as well, and each state requires sex offenders to notify law enforcement about changes in address. The police then make this information available to schools, daycare facilities, and the public in the area.
An accusation of a sex crime can ruin a person's reputation in the eyes of the public, but a conviction will make it impossible to move freely, live where you choose, and otherwise have typical freedom.
If you do not report according to law, you can be further punished for a Megan's Law violation. Under the federal Adam Walsh Act, a failure to report or register is a felony offense.
Questions About Megan'S Law? Free, Confidential Consultation.
If you have recently been convicted of a sex offense in Pennsylvania or New Jersey, or if you are being charged with a Megan's Law violation for not registering or failing to update your information, contact us. Our criminal and professional license defense attorneys understand the law, and we can help protect your rights after a sex crime conviction.
Contact Hark and Hark online or call our 24-hour criminal defense hotline at 1-877-4-HARK-LAW (1-877-442-7552).
Free initial consultation. Reasonable rates and payment plans. Major credit cards accepted.