We Defend Your Livelihood

Richard Quinton HarkClients’ ChoiceAward 2019
Richard Quinton HarkClients’ ChoiceAward 2018
Avvo | Client's Choice Award 2017 | Riohard Quinton Hark
Avvo | Client's Choice Award 2016 | Riohard Quinton Hark
Avvo Rating | Superb | Top Attorney Administrative Law
Avvo | Client's choice | 2016 | Administrative Law

HARK & HARK REPRESENTS ALL MEDICAL PROFESSIONALS APPLYING FOR, SECURING, MAINTAINING, AND PROTECTING THEIR PROFESSIONAL LICENSES

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Defense For The Practitioner
  4.  » 
  5. Sex Crimes
  6.  » Megan’s Law Registration Rules

Registration Rules For Megan’s Law In Pennsylvania

General Registration Requirements

  • Offenders must register with the Pennsylvania State Police upon release from incarceration, upon parole from a state or county correctional facility or upon the commencement of a sentence of intermediate punishment or probation.
  • Offenders are required to notify the Pennsylvania State Police within 48 hours of any change of residence or establishment of an additional residence(s), or when they become homeless/transient.
  • Offenders are required to notify the Pennsylvania State Police within 48 hours of any change of employer or employment location or the termination of employment.
  • Offenders are required to notify the Pennsylvania State Police within 48 hours of any change of institution or location at which the offender is enrolled as a student, or termination of enrollment.
  • Offenders are required to notify the Pennsylvania State Police within 48 hours of becoming employed or enrolled as a student if the offender has not previously provided that information to the Pennsylvania State Police.
  • Offenders are required to register with the appropriate law enforcement authorities in another state within 48 hours of establishing a residence, becoming homeless/transient, obtaining employment, or attending school in another state.
  • Offenders convicted in jurisdictions outside Pennsylvania must register with the Pennsylvania State Police within 48 hours of establishing a residence, becoming homeless/transient, being employed or becoming a student in Pennsylvania.
  • The 10-year registration period shall be tolled when an offender is recommitted for a parole violation or sentenced to an additional term of imprisonment. (In such cases, the Department of Corrections or county correctional facility will notify the Pennsylvania State Police of the admission of an offender.)
  • The occurrence of a natural disaster or other event requiring evacuation of residences shall not relieve an individual of the duty to register or any other duty imposed.

Need Help Understanding Megan’s Law?
Stop Searching. Start Calling.
24-Hour Professional License Hotline
1-877-4-HARK-LAW (1-877-442-7552)

Free initial consultation. Reasonable rates and payment plans. Major credit cards accepted.

Richard’s Most Recent Blog

Conducting yourself with dignity during a board investigation

Receiving notification that you are under investigation in Pennsylvania can be disheartening, to say the least. Even if the allegations lack credibility, speculation about your conduct can taint your public image and hurt your credibility. Understanding how to conduct...